Minor football championship

Written by Richard O'Sullivan . Posted in f-minor

Minor Football Ch'ship: Tues 19th Aug @7.00pm in Clane.


Celbridge v Round Towers

U-16 League Final 2014

Written by Ciaran O'Donovan. Posted in f-minor

U-16 Div 1 League Champions 2014

Kildare Under 16 Hurling League Final
Celbridge 1-11 Naas 0-7

Date: 10th May 2014
Celbridge's under 16 hurlers maintained their recent good form with a hard fought win over their great rivals Naas in showery conditions at Hawkfield on Saturday 10th.
Both teams were forced to make changes with key players Robert Clarke (Celbridge), Joe Pickles and Simon Leacy (both Naas) missing out through injury.
Naas started with the difficult cross-wind blowing slightly in their favour and were first off the mark with a long-range point from their consistent free-taker James Burke.  Celbridge took control for the next 15 minutes and fired over four points through Ciaran O'Shaughnessy, Tony Archbold, Liam O'Flynn and Conor Doyle who can consider himself unlucky not to have found the net with his effort.  Naas came storming back to level at 0-4 each and were denied a goal when Celbridge goalkeeper Niall Reynor deflected a goalbound effort over the bar.  Reynor's brilliance between the posts as well as his ability to keep his backs on their toes were key factors in his side's victory.  He even found time to chip in with a 65.  Scores were exchanged for the rest of the half with Celbridge leading 0-6 to 0-5 at the break.
Naas started the second half well and found themselves 0-7 to 0-6 ahead by the 40th minute due in large part to the freetaking of the excellent Burke.  The game was turned on its head however as Sean Lawlor stepped up to take a sideline cut on the left hand side.  Lawlor's ability with the ground ball is well known and his long-range effort deceived the unlucky Jeff Keane in the Naas goal and ended up in the net. Tony Archbold added a point from play within 30 seconds to give Celbridge a three-point lead and from there, they never looked back.  Further scores from O'Shaughnessy, Ciaran O'Regan and a Liam O'Flynn free saw Celbridge home by a seven point margin.  The fact that Naas failed to score for the final 20 minutes is testimony to the tenacity of the Celbridge backs where stand-in full-back Paddy Mortell, captain Aidan O'Riain and man of the match Aaron Doran excelled.  The second-half midfield partnership of Ciaran O'Shaughnessy and Kevin Gorman can also be proud of their efforts.
Aidan O'Riain accepted the cup in front of a large group of enthusiastic players and parents.  The championship beckons in August when these greatest of rivals will no doubt lock horns again.
Celbridge: Niall Reynor (0-1), Sean McGoldrick, Paddy Mortell, Paul Hogan, Sean Lawlor (1-0), Aidan O'Riain, Aaron Doran, Ciaran O'Shaughnessy (0-2), Kevin Gorman, Liam O'Flynn (0-4), Conal O'Foghlu, Ciaran O'Regan (0-1), Aaron Brennan, Tony Archbold (0-2), Conor Doyle (0-1).
Subs:  Scott Kenna (for Brennan), David Cunningham (for O'Foghlu), Sean Leonard, David Dolan, Cian O'Donnchadha, John Clarke, Warren Conway.


MFL Div1 Result

Written by Richard O'Sullivan . Posted in f-minor

MFL Div1 Result:

The minors were awarded a walkover victory over Kilcock this weekend.

MFL Div.1 Result

Written by Richard O'Sullivan . Posted in f-minor

Moorefield 2-13 v 5-09 Celbridge